Adam\’s Stream of Consciousness

If you blog it, they will come

The Supernova Burnout week 5

Posted by Adam on August 2, 2006

Ah the loving affection that is Rock Star: Supernova. Its not that they coddle me, but you can’t help but feel better about your own life as you watch this debacle. This my friends is the definition of quality entertainment. No recap this week, as I missed the Tuesday go around and the five minute recap does not do the performance show justice. Sorry. But we do have results to get to, so let’s go!

Ryan, the new age man in black, gets the honor of the encore this week performing a solo version of R.E.M.’s “Losing My Religion” on the piano. I would say that he earned this in part because they are striving not to duplicate the encore performers each week, but without seeing all the songs this week he may be justified in receiving the kudos. It is a solid outing by him. I thought the middle/chorus part seemed a little off, but without a full band accompaniment it was better than expected.

Five wannabes were in the bottom three at some point over the night (though we are never told who the initial three were in flash voting). Zayra and Toby were included in this group, but they both survived the official bottom three. Surprised to see Toby there, but perhaps this gives him a wake up call. How Zayra was able to avoid the public’s ax is beyond me. So we are down to the three do-or-die performances this week.

Jill is first up, and with Zayra already safe this may be her swan song. She decides to sing “Alone” by Heart, and I can’t help but wonder if this is an attempt to do some ass kissing. For those not aware of it, Gilby Clarke toured with Heart in 2003 and 2004. Jill’s version is very faithful to the original, and is actually one of her better overall outings. However there was not much on the performance end of things, and dispite the ties the band has to the song through Gilby, this did not seem to be very Supernovan.

Dana is the second to perform, and her choice is “House of the Rising Sun” by The Animals. This is a great song, and Dana decides to play with the arrangement some. The core of the music is the same, but instead of the original mix we get a more electrifed sound. It is anti-unplugged if you will. My guess is that Dana landed here because people just can’t see her fitting in with Supernova. I tend to echo that sentiment, as I have written here before, but I must say that the girl is starting to grow on me. Very lively version, and I am pretty sure she is safe this week.

Patrice is the final one up tonight, and even Tommy Lee backing her up on drums last night was not enough to save her from the bottom. She plays the role of pick a song that not many people know this week with Jeff Buckley’s “Eternal Life”. I am unfamiliar with this song, and perhaps that is partially why I did not take to it very well. My least favorite performance of the night. I got the impression that this was orginally a very serious and somber song, yet Patrice had a smile on her face the whole time. Again, not a song that I could see Supernova performing, though this seems to be a growing trend. Why you would not play something you could see the band performing when you have a choice is beyond me.

Time for the Tommy “The Hatchet Man” Lee to make his ruling. Before he does, Gilby runs the the possibilities and sends Jill to safety. Dana still has a long way to go, and Patrice ended up here despite Tommy backing her. The “Tommy Hawk” is dropped and it lands on Dana!

Another surprise elimination to me, as I thought that Dana easily had the best performance tonight. Jill’s mindset and attitude seemed to clash with Supernova, and Patrice proved she doesn’t have the power to front these guys, but both live to sing another day. I am beginning to think that these Wednesday elimination performances are irrelevant towards the outcome which is upsetting. At least it gives us something to argue about at the water cooler on Thursday mornings. I will now go out on a limb and say that next week it is either Zayra, Jill, or Patrice who goes home. In fact I would not be at all surprised if they are the three who are voted towards elimination by the public either. Until next week.

Leave a Reply

 
