Adam\’s Stream of Consciousness

If you blog it, they will come

The Supernova Burnout week 4

Posted by Adam on July 26, 2006

Wow.

Keep reading, you’ll see why. But first, in case you missed last night’s show, here’s what everyone performed:

Lukas – “Bittersweet Symphony” (played guitar)

Zayra – “Call Me”

Dana – “About a Girl” (acoustic)

Patrice – “Remedy”

Toby – “White Wedding”

Magni – “Heroes” (played guitar)

Ryan – “I Alone”

Jill – “Brown Sugar” (Gilby played lead guitar)

Phil – “One Headlight”

Dilana – “Time After Time” (acoustic)

Josh – “No Rain”

Storm – “Anything, Anything”

Now what you really want: the results!

The encore went to Storm, as correctly predicted right here last night. Our bottom three ended up being Patrice, Zayra, and Phil; with Jill and Josh also at the bottom during the course of the voting but not up for elimination tonight. So I picked two of these three last night, with the masses going with Patrice in place of Josh. Not surpised that any of the five were at the bottom.

Patrice sang Radiohead’s “My Iron Lung”. Truth be told, I don’t think I have ever heard this song before, though I am familiar with Radiohead’s sound. She gave a helluva performance with lots of energy and passion, though I expect all of these elimination performances to be solid since the wannabes get to choose their own songs. As far as the choice went, I’m really not sure Radiohead is rock enough for Supernova.

Zayra was up next and sang “Not an Addict” by K’s Choice. This is one of my favorite songs from the 90s, and when she said this was what she was going to perform I felt there was a very good chance she would butcher it. Unfortunately my fears were true, as Zayra’s version was very stripped down. Where the original slowly builds as it goes along to end with huge energy, her take almost seemed like she was reading poetry. I don’t know if its her accent or the bizarre William Shatner-esque pauses, but there is no way she survives based off that performance. Zayra’s performance was emotional for her though, so I am glad that she got to share a song that she feels deeply about with us. Alas I won’t be missing her for the rest of the season one bit.

Phil rounded out this show’s performances with an unknown song called “Smoking Umbrellas” by a band called Failure. Jason wondered if that was a bad omen, and I have to agree though only because it is an unknown song (not because of the name of the band). I must say that while I would have thought that going off the radar with song choice would hinder the wannabes, but Phil’s tune was the most lively and hard hitting of the night. Much like Dana last week, Phil was able to pull the crowd in with a song that sounded right for the show, even if nobody knew it by name.

My ranking would be Patrice best, then Phil, and then Zayra way below them, however I am not in Supernova. Gilby dismissed Patrice to safety even before he spoke about the other two, so she must have been far and away better than Phil and Zayra in the band’s opinion. He then goes on to say Zayra doesn’t seem to be the right fit for the band, and Phil may not have the desire to front the band. Both disagree of course, and its time for Tommy “The Hatchet Man” Lee to make the final verdict …

Phil is gone!!!! WTF!?

I don’t know who is more shocked: me, the crowd, or the rest of the wannabes. Seriously, when they panned up to the rest of the contestants I didn’t see a single mouth that wasn’t agape; the crowd was silent; and I was busy lifting my jaw up off the floor. Welcome to the television talent contest. This had to be the producers call, I can’t see the Supernova guys wanting to have anything to do with Zayra.

Wow.

Leave a Reply

 
