Adam\’s Stream of Consciousness

If you blog it, they will come

Swimming in the Playhouse Pool

Posted by Adam on July 13, 2006

Thank you Ted Turner for creating the Cartoon Network. Thank you Cartoon Network for deciding to hand the late night reigns over to the geniuses behind Adult Swim. Thank you Adult Swim for being bold enough to let us all revisit Pee-Wee’s Playhouse. Thank you for letting me relive my childhood.

Its been years since Saturday morning meant anything special to me. Now its just another day of the week that I usually sleep through unless I have to work, but fifteen years ago it was a magical time. It was home to cartoons, and not just any old cartoons – Saturday morning cartoons! I remember that across the board from ABC to CBS to NBC kiddie shows controlled the airwaives. I even remember prime time specials previewing the new Fall line-ups each year. Though when I would try and reminisce about which cartoons were on Saturday mornings, let alone which channel they were on, there was only one that I could remember for sure. Pee-Wee’s Playhouse.

When I first heard that Adult Swim had picked up all 45 episodes of Pee-Wee, and were going to be showing them nightly, I wasn’t sure what to think. As the date approached I found myself curious as to how they would hold up after 20 years. Curiosity soon turned into anticipation, and Monday night at 11:00 my television was tuned in to Cartoon Network. It was the moment of truth, and it was greater than I ever could have imagined.

The familiar theme song started playing (albeit with lyrics different than those in my head), and I was hooked again; transported back to a more innocent time. I was a kid again. Don’t get me wrong. I still have my flashes of immaturity, those times when my behavior is childish to say the least, but this was different. Pee-Wee sucked me in from the moment he powered up Conky to get the secret word until he flew out the trap door on his scooter. It was no longer about scandal at an adult film theater; it was about nirvana on Adult Swim.

Everyone was there. The characters I remembered and the ones I had forgotten. Chairy, Globey, and Pterri. The singing flowers, the ant farm, and the dinosaur family in the mouse hole. Dirty Dog, Cool Cat, and Chicky Baby in puppet land. Ms. Yvonne, Captain Carl, Reba the mail lady, and Cowboy Curtis. There was the picture phone, the foil ball, and the magic glasses. The King of Cartoon showed his one minute old school cartoon, and we jumped in Magic Screen to connect the dots (la la la). I laughed at the nonsense, and screamed along when the secret word was said. It was as if Jambi had granted a wish I didn’t even know I had. Mecca lecca hi, mecca hiny ho, indeed.

I don’t know if my enthusiasm will hold through the entire episode run. The novelty may disappear faster than a hot dog down Kobyashi’s throat. One thing is for sure though, at an age where I should probably be appreciating the paintings of Peter Paul Rubens, it is Paul Reubens who holds a special place in my heart. So thank you Adult Swim for bringing back the memories and letting me go back to a time when there was only one response to an insult – “I know you are, but what am I?” Saturday mornings still might not be anything special, but weeknights at 11:00 are starting to be.

Leave a Reply

 
